nina colors

Right Brain or Left Brain? you may be surprised!

Posted on: December 27, 2009

I have always been fascinated by the brain hemispheres and what they offer. I love this discussion by Jill Bolte Taylor, a neuro-anatomist who had a one-hemisphere stroke, yet was able to watch and remember what was happening to her. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyyjU8fzEYU

When I studied biology (in the bronze age), it was thought that only the liver could re-grow. That has all changed as we now hear from the scientist that the brain is much more “plastic” than we ever thought and can “re-grow” and also develop new “channels”.

Altho it has long been thought that people who were right-brained/left-handed were more creative, there is new research showing that it is actually the somewhat ambi-dexterous who can be the most creative. Whew! — there’s hope for me after all:-) If you want to read the actual article (it’s really not too scientific), it’s http://www.miller-mccune.com/news/raise-your-hand-if-you-re-creative-either-hand-1534

I’d love to hear what you think about this subject and where you think you fit on the spectrum!

7 Responses to "Right Brain or Left Brain? you may be surprised!"

[…] This post was Twitted by ninacolors […]

This site might be interesting for your discussion.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/right-brain-v-left-brain/story-e6frf7jo-1111114603615

Without any effort, I use right brain often. But I’m sure I can make my left brain work hard when I’m in the right mood. I’m right handed, but I don’t mind using left hand when I need to even it is not as strong as right hand…

see? Creative!!! and interesting article — thanks.

I found this article fascinating, Nina, especially since I stand firmly in the category of “inconsistent hand preference.” I write and eat with my left hand but do everything else with my right (when it comes to drawing on the computer I have a problem using the mouse: I draw with my left hand but use the mouse with my right –so either way I feel uncomfortable!).

I have a friend who, like me, is inconsistent when it comes to hand preference. A few years back his doctors discovered a brain tumor (luckily benign). But in order to do any surgery they were going to have to map his brain. Since he used both hemispheres many functions normally ascribed to one hemisphere or the other in most people simply didn’t hold up with him!

Fascinating! So what happened after the surgery? Isn’t this brain-mapping stuff amazing!!!

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by chokha, Jeff Gates, Nina Bunin, topsy_top20k, topsy_top20k_en and others. topsy_top20k_en said: Right Brain or Left Brain? you may be surprised!: http://wp.me/ptlOJ-4F […]

You may find it interesting to read Buddhism-influenced review of My Stroke of Insight by Dr Jill Bolte Taylor

http://sensit.wordpress.com/2009/12/13/my-stroke-of-insight-by-jill-bolte-taylor/

Leave a Reply

My 10-minute life on flickr

Follow Me on Twitter!

Blog Stats

  • 8,895 hits
