nina colors

Martin Niemoller – a human being

Posted on: May 27, 2009

When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I did not speak out;
I was not a Jew.

When they came for the Incurably sick,
I did not speak out;
I was not Incurably sick.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.
≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈  
Martin Niemoller,
German Protestant Pastor,
1892-1984

We come, and we go.  We make mistakes and try to rectify them. Sometimes we pay for our mistakes. Pastor Niemoller initially supported the Nazis as they rose up against the Weimar Republic in Germany, and even seemed to have anti-semitic views.  When he was liberated after 13 yrs in Dachau and another camp (for activities “against the state”), he was a changed man, and penned the above piece.

We can only do the best we can do.  Understanding this makes it mighty hard to criticize others.  We come and we go.

4 Responses to "Martin Niemoller – a human being"

This is too deep for me for now.

I understand:-) Because my mother was a philosophy nut, I grew up w this quote, and couldn’t resist posting it when I ran across it online. Means a lot more to me as an adult!

yes i have always thought this was very powerful – i like the addition!

I love your blog and your commentaries are great! I am also a mixed media artist – love doing collage and you really offered up some great tips that inpired me – love your art!

Leave a Reply

My 10-minute life on flickr

P1000420

P1000371

P1000357

P1000359

P1000351

P1000348

P1000253

P1000372

P1000325

 pursed lips

More Photos

Follow Me on Twitter!

Blog Stats

  • 8,781 hits
